The 2017 TODOS Iris M. Carl Equity and Leadership Award

Nominate a deserving mathematics educator for TODOS' top award!



The TODOS Iris M. Carl Equity and Leadership Award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the quality of mathematics education provided to underserved students, in particular to Latina/o students. The honoree is a mathematics educator who exhibits commitment to improving the mathematics education for all students and has made, or is making unique contributions that have impacted equity and access for underserved students. The individual's work in improving mathematics has influenced the school, community, leaders and practitioners, and its impact has been sustained.  The awardee will be announced and recognized during the NCSM/NCTM Conference on April 5, 2017, in San Antonio, Texas. The recipient will receive a plaque and lifetime membership in TODOS.


2005         Iris M. Carl, In Memory and Honor
2006         Guillermo Mendieta
2007         Ed Silver
2008         Miriam Leiva
2009         Kay Gilliland
2010         Bob McDonald
2011         Carol A. Edwards
2012         Harriet Haynes and Diane Kinch
2013         Marta Civil and Susie W. Håkansson
2014         Florence Anne Glanfield and Nora G. Ramirez
2015         Gil Cuevas
2016         José Franco and Rochelle Gutiérrez
Go to the 2017 Nominations Packet for information about the criteria, nomination process, and nomination forms. Read a brief biography of Iris M. Carl.

Direct questions and send nomination packets to [email protected].

The Iris M. Carl Award is sponsored by Casio.


Nominations Open: October 15, 2016
Nominations Deadline: January 9, 2017