May 2021 Enews
TODOS: Mathematics for ALL


Volume 14, Issue 5 May 2021

Thanks to Outgoing Board Positions

TODOS thanks the two Board members who are leaving their positions: Diana Ceja, Past President, and Zandra de Araujo, Director. Both will continue to serve on the TODOS Board, Zandra as the continuing chair of the Advocacy Committee and Diana as the newly created position of Director of Communications.

Social Justice Quote for the May 2021 Enews

There is no social change fairy. There is only the change made by the hands of individuals.

Winona LaDuke

Welcome to New Board Members and Positions

The incoming TODOS Board members and positions began their term on May 1: Florence Glanfield, President-Elect; Marian Dingle, Director; and Diana Ceja, Director of Communications. In addition, the TODOS Board approved the reconstitution of the Finance Committee with Treasurer Maggie Hackett as Chair. Welcome!

Promote the TODOS 2021 Conference

Spread the word about #TODOS2021! Promote the conference by using these slides.  Share the conference and registration information and the session descriptions with your friends and colleagues to encourage them to attend. Be an advocate for TODOS!

TODOS 2021 Conference Session Descriptions

Do we have a conference program for you! Session descriptions are now available for #TODOS2021, Activating Agency, Access, and Advancement in Mathematics. Access the detailed information and start planning. TODOS looks forward to seeing you at the conference! Get excited.

Call for Manuscripts for Special Issue of TEEM

The next special issue of TEEM focuses on Antiracism in Mathematics Education. This special issue will grapple with, “What does antiracist mathematics education look, sound, and feel like across PreK-12 and teacher education?” Go to the Call for Manuscripts for details. 

NCSM Summer Leadership Academy: June 28-30, 2021

Mathematics leaders will leave equipped to develop a shared vision for mathematics instruction, implement high leverage teaching strategies, develop coaching structures, and monitor student learning for ALL students through an equity lens. Read information details, view the academy agenda, and register. Ensure equitable practices!

In Memoriam: Ubiratan D'Ambrosio

It is with great sadness to announce the passing of Professor Ubiratan D'Ambrosio.  He was a champion of peace in all the contexts our lives and values are embedded in. Collective reconstruction and the courage to act were his goals as a mathematics educator and pioneer in ethnomathematics. But he made it a completely human and social endeavor.

2021 National Math Festival Videos

Whether you joined the National Math Festival (NMF) live online or are just ready now to tune in to some juicy post-event videos, thanks for taking the 2021 NMF journey. It's been fun, it's been surprising, and the NMF organizers are glad you're along for the ride! Continue to enjoy the resources all year round. View all 2021 Festival Video Recordings!

Solving for Equity

“Redesigning postsecondary math pathways can be a strategy to enhance educational equity. Yet this won’t occur unless institutions and states exercise leadership around solving for equity.” This quote is from Solving for Equity, a report that synthesizes research and interviews with experts on postsecondary mathematics, to offer key strategies for redesigning college math pathways to increase racial equity, rigor and relevance.

Recommendations for Early STEM Education

President Biden’s proposal for early childhood education provides a unique opportunity to greatly expand access to STEM education among young children. Early STEM Matters: Providing High-Quality STEM Experiences for All Young Children articulates an ambitious but achievable vision for the future of young children’s STEM education, offering four guiding principles and six actionable recommendations. 

2020-2021 TODOS Board

Executive Team: Linda Fulmore, Florence Glanfield, Sylvia Celedón-Pattichis, and Nora Ramirez
Members: Ma Bernadette Andres-Salgarino, Kyndall Brown, Gloria Brown Brooks, Diana Ceja, Marta Civil, Zandra de Araujo, Marian Dingle, Bernard Frost, Maggie Hackett, Susie W. Håkansson, Lisa Jilk, Nichole Lindgren, Luz Maldonado Rodríguez, Erin Sylves, Trevor Warburton, and María del Rosario Zavala