July 2016 Enews
TODOS: Mathematics for ALL


Volume 9, Issue 7 July 2016


Iris M. Carl Equity and Leadership Awardees

The Iris M. Carl Equity and Leadership Award was presented to two individuals: José Franco and Rochelle Gutiérrez at the close of the opening session of the TODOS 2016 Conference on Thursday, June 23rd. Casio has sponsored this award since its inception in 2005. Go to the award page on the TODOS website for additional information about this award and for a list of past awardees.

Look for the TODOS 2016 Enews Special Edition

An Enews special edition will be sent out in August. Send your ideas and thoughts to Bob McDonald. He's especially interested in parts he missed due to conference responsibilities: Lee Stiff's keynote, Friday AM with Julia Aguirre, and the closing session by Kathryn Chval and Ed Dickey. Reaction to ALL sessions including the Impact and Gilliland Series as well as links to any blogs are greatly appreciated.

Attention TODOS 2016 Conference Attendees

Have you sent in your overall conference evaluation? In order to prepare for the TODOS 2018 Conference, TODOS wants your input. You have the opportunity to provide comments on the aspects of TODOS 2016 that need to be continued and why those were important. You can also suggest possible topics and speakers and program structures for future conferences.


Florence Glanfield will present Part 2 of her webinar "Weaving Indigenous Perspectives & Mathematics: Landscape of Success for ALL Learners" on Wednesday, September 21st, at 4:30 p.m. PDT. Part One is available online. Registration information for the webinar will be sent at a later date. The TODOS LIVE! committee has a great slate of presenters and sessions set up for the 2016-2017 school year.

TODOS Members Attending ICME 13

Three others have been added to the list of TODOS members attending ICME 13: John Carter, José Martínez-Hinestroza, and Catherine Paolucci. At least 28 TODOS members will be in Hamburg at ICME 13. Thanks for informing the editor of your plans. Members who are attending are welcomed to send a summary of what they gained to be included in future Enews publications.

On Views of Race and Inequality

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take policy postions. Last month, the Pew Research Center released On Views of Race and Inequality, Blacks and Whites Are Worlds Apart. The data presented can provide many topics for discussion.

Navajo Math Circles: A Documentary

Navajo Math Circles is a documentary film about the meeting of two worlds: that of some of the country's most accomplished mathematicians and math educators, and of the children and teachers in the underserved, largely rural Navajo educational system. See children finding joy in doing mathematics and in realizing that they have the capacity to do mathematics. Math Circles put children in charge of exploring mathematics. View the trailer.


At the recent Conference for the Advancement of Mathematics Teaching (CAMT) in San Antonio, TODOS member Dr. Trena Wilkerson from Baylor University received the E. Glennadine Gibbs Award for her outstanding leadership in mathematics education within Texas and nationally. The award was presented to her by TODOS member and past president of the Texas Council of Teachers of Mathematics (TCTM) Mary Alice Hatchett. TODOS member Dr. Sandi Cooper from Baylor University will be President of TCTM beginning in January.

Visit the TODOS Members' Area

The TODOS website has much to offer members. Certain portions of the website are for 'members only". You need to receive something for your $25! To access the members area, login. If you are unsure of your username and password, you will see a place to enter your email and receive the needed information. When you are asked for your email, enter the one where you received this Enews. Click here for information on updating your profile and preferences.

Sad News: Margaret Peg Kenney

TODOS member Margaret "Peg" Kenney passed away July 5, 2016. She was deeply involved in the mathematics education community as a teacher, leader, author, and speaker. She was an active member of TODOS and was on the Student Award Committee in Boston that selected the TODOS student awardees during the NCSM/NCTM conference in 2015. For further information, see the article in the Boston Globe.

Reading Guide for Parents of Native American children

The reading guide by Dr. Sandra Fox for parents of Native American children and all children, was developed with EONAS chair Rich Sgarlotti.  The guide is an edited transcript of a video conversation with Sandra Fox. It includes many ways parents can interact with their children to foster reading. Dr. Fox is a member of the Oglala Lakota Nation. She has promoted using Indian literature and aspects of culture to teach standards.

Sign Up for Link Language and Learning

The preconference workshop Link Language and Learning will be held October 26th prior to the opening of the NCTM Regional in Phoenix. The goal is to provide teachers with a handful of easy to implement, high leverage strategies for helping students, particularly English learners, have access to the language and the mathematics of word problems by linking language and reasoning development.


Hi ##First Name##. Your Membership in TODOS is good through ##Membership End Date##. Your support is important and greatly appreciated. If you are joining or renewing your membership in NCTM, select TODOS as the organization to receive the rebate that NCTM generously offers. Also, encourage your friends and colleagues to join TODOS!

Soliciting Items for the TODOS Enews

Do you have any information on personal accomplishments, events, or news articles that focus on equity and excellence and aligned with the Mission and Goals of TODOS to share with other TODOS members? Do you have suggestions to enhance the Enews? Send information and recommendations to the editor.

2016-2017 TODOS Board

Executive Team: Diane Kinch, Marta Civil, Susie W. Håkansson, and Nora Ramirez
Members: Julia Aguirre, Ellen Barger, Rocio Benedicto, Anita Bright, Kyndall Brown, Carol A. Edwards, Linda Fulmore, Cynthia Hillman-Forbush, Annette Kitagawa, Bob McDonald, M. Alejandra Sorto, and Angela Thompson