August 2019 Enews
TODOS: Mathematics for ALL


Volume 12, Issue 8 August 2019

TODOS 2020 Conference: Presenters Needed!

All TODOS members have much expertise to share. You are “Activating Agency for Student Access, Engagement, and Advancement in Mathematics.” You can submit a proposal for an Imagine Session (40 minutes), an Innovate Session (60 minutes), or an Investigate Session (90 minutes) that highlights your efforts in advocating for equity and excellence for ALL students. Sessions are to be interactive. Deadline for submission is September 30th.


TODOS and NCTM are funding its third annual professional development grant, Fostering Support of Mathematics Learning in Multilingual Classrooms. The grant provides financial assistance to PreK-12 schools for in-service to increase understanding and expertise in fostering support of multi-language development when teaching mathematics. Grant maximum: $4000. You must be a TODOS member by May 1, 2019 and NCTM member by October 12, 2019. Deadline: November 1, 2019.

TODOS 2020 Conference

Encourage your friends and colleagues to attend the TODOS 2020 Conference that will be held June 25-27, 2020 at the Scottsdale Plaza Resort. Bring your families to relax at the resort. The keynote speaker for the conference will be Karen D. King, Ph.D., Program Director at the National Science Foundation in the Division of Research on Learning in Formal and Informal Settings in Education and Human Resources Directorate. Go to the conference website for additional information. Registration will open in October.

TODOSonLine! QTE Video

If you missed the presentation by Cathery Yeh on Tuesday, August 13th, you can view it now: Countering Deficit Myths of Students with Dis/Abilities and Conceptualizing Possibilities: A Culturally Responsive and Relational Approach to Mathematics. If you wish to share a Quick Talk on Equity, contact the co-chairs and they will schedule you. Join TODOS for a twitter chat on August 29th at 4:30PM Pacific Time. #QTETODOS1

Speak in TODOS Strand for CAMT

Are you planning to attend the Conference for the Advancement of Mathematics Teaching (CAMT) in July, 8-10, 2020 in Fort Worth, TX, consider submitting a proposal to speak as part of the TODOS strand. When you apply, use ‘(TODOS)’ at the end of your title to be considered as a speaker on behalf of TODOS. Once you have submitted, inform the TODOS Conferences Chair and send a copy of your proposal submission.

Volunteer at the Boston and Nashville Regionals

Attend the NCTM Regionals in either Boston or Nashville and volunteer at the NCTM Equity Affiliates Booth to share why you joined TODOS. If you wish to volunteer for four hours or more but didn’t sign up for the conference, contact the editor to arrange for an Exhibitor's Badge that will also allow you to attend sessions. Sign up for Boston (September 25-27) and/or Nashville (October 2-4).

NVTESOL Conference

The Nevadans Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (NVTESOL) will be holding its first annual conference on September 6-7, 2019 at Nevada State College in Henderson, with the conference theme: Building a Pathway to Engage Emergent Bilinguals. Go to their website and select the NVTESOL Conference link for additional information including names of keynote speakers, schedule at a glance, and registration information.

MidSchoolMath Call for Presenters

The 2020 MidSchoolMath National Conference will be held March 6-7, 2020, in Santa Fe, NM. Stop the Drop: Enough is Enough is dedicated to doing the deep work to ensure that all students succeed in middle school math. It takes leaders from all aspects of education to share their best lessons, protocols, ideas and research to transform math education. Submit a proposal to speak! Deadline is September 16th!

2019-2020 TODOS Board

Executive Team: Diana Ceja, Linda Fulmore, Rocío Benedicto, and Nora Ramirez
Members: Jennifer Bay-Williams, Kyndall Brown, Gloria Brown Brooks, Sylvia Celedón-Pattichis, Marta Civil, Zandra de Araujo, Maggie Hackett, Susie W. Håkansson, Annette Kitagawa, Silvia Llamas-Flores, Carlos LópezLeiva, Erin Sylves, Jennifer Yacoubian, and Maria del Rosario Zavala